AN English task on MARch 13

Giving advice

What will you advise your friend to do if she/he says?

  1. My hair won’t stay flat.

2. English spelling is so hard.

3. My dog keeps biting people.

4. I love her but she doesn’t notice me.

II. Expressing the same idea in three ways

Example.

John is poor but he is happy.

  1. Despite his poverty, John is happy.
  2. Although he is poor, John is happy.
  3. John is poor. However, he is happy.

Task. Express the meanings of these sentences in three ways.

Alfred is strong but gentle.-Despite his strength, Alfred displays gentleness. Although Alfred is gentle, he is strong. Alfred is gentle. However, he is strong.

It’s expensive but useless.-Despite its high cost, it serves no practical purpose.

They are rich but unhappy.-Although they possess wealth, they are not happy.

III. Answer these questions being as honest as you can.

Do you ever imagine being someone else?-No, I do not.

What childhood activity do you miss doing?-I miss playing imaginative games from my childhood, like building forts or pretending to be characters from stories.

What are two things you can’t stand other people doing?-I don’t like when people are not responsible and are self-centred.

What have you always dreamt of doing?- I have always dreamt of travelling the world and building my own house.

What are you looking forward to doing?- I am looking forward to studying and becoming the best version of myself, also for my country and for my people.

IV. What are these objects used for?

For example

a Kettle

A kettle is used for boiling water

a sieve, a stamp, a pin, a corkscrew, a torch, a rubber, a ruler, an iron, a brick

  • Sieve: Used for straining or sifting dry ingredients.
  • Stamp: Used for imprinting ink onto documents or envelopes.
  • Pin: Used for fastening fabric together.
  • Corkscrew: Used for removing corks from bottles, typically wine bottles.
  • Torch: Used for providing light in dark environments.
  • Rubber: Used for erasing pencil marks.
  • Ruler: Used for measuring lengths or drawing straight lines.
  • Iron: Used for pressing clothes to remove wrinkles.
  • Brick: Used for building structures, such as walls or houses.

V. Here is a list of adjectives. Match the adjectives with the following descriptions of peo[ple.

emotional, sentimental, hysterical, careless, forgetful, absent-minded, mean, tight-fisted, pessimistic, negative, stubborn, obstinate, outgoing, sociable, gregarious, conceited, arrogant, big-headed, introverted, unsociable, withdrawn, closed, friendly, easygoing, moody, bad-tempered, miserable, modest, grumpy, boring, uninteresting, dull, reassuming, creative, artistic, cruel, sadistic, neat, organized, efficient, optimistic, funny, humorous, silly, uncaring, insensitive, selfish, unpunctual, unreliable

Someone who ….is …

  1. Forgetful: Keeps losing things.
  2. Careless: Always drops/breaks things.
  3. Pessimistic: Thinks bad things will happen.
  4. Outgoing: Goes to a lot of parties.
  5. Introverted: Keeps to himself/herself.
  6. Miserable: Never smiles.
  7. Boring: Makes you yawn.
  8. Creative: Likes making things.
  9. Neat: Keeps things tidy.
  10. Unreliable: Always arrives late for meetings.
  11. Funny: Makes you laugh all the time.
  12. Optimistic: Thinks good things will happen.
  13. Cruel: Hurts people or animals.
  14. Modest: Doesn’t like talking about his/her achievements.
  15. Friendly: Is easy to get on with.
  16. Conceited: Brags about himself/herself a lot.
  17. Obstinate: Never changes her/his mind even when she/he knows she/he is not right.
  18. Tight-fisted: Never gives presents or buys drinks.
  19. Sentimental: Always cries at weddings, in the cinema, etc.

VI. Speak about the things that …

  1. Scare me: Heights, spiders, and failure.
  2. Annoy me: Loud chewing, people who are consistently late, and traffic jams.
  3. Offend me: Discrimination, disrespect, and dishonesty.
  4. Depress me: Seeing injustice, feeling powerless, and losing loved ones.
  5. Amuse me: Clever wordplay, witty humor, and playful pets.
  6. Shock me: News of tragedies, unexpected betrayals, and extreme behavior.
  7. Bore me: Monotonous tasks, long meetings, and repetitive conversations.
  8. Relax me: Listening to music, taking walks in nature, and practicing mindfulness.
  9. Impress me: Acts of kindness, displays of courage, and innovative ideas.
  10. Embarrass me: Tripping in public, forgetting someone’s name, and making a social faux pas.
  11. Confuse me: Complex mathematical equations, unclear instructions, and contradictory information.
  12. Interest me: Learning about new cultures, exploring scientific theories, and understanding human behavior.

Leave a comment